Three Ulstermen named in Ireland team

Published Thursday, 08 November 2012
Toggle font size

Three Ulstermen have been named in the Ireland team to face South Africa on Saturday.

Three Ulstermen named in Ireland team
Andrew Trimble is hoping that Ireland will bounce back against the Springboks. (© Getty)

Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble and Chris Henry are all in the starting line up, with their provincial teammate, Iain Henderson, named as a replacement.

The 20-year-old only signed his first full time professional contract with Ulster last month and will earn his first cap if played.

It will also be a momentous occasion for Leinster's Jamie Heaslip.

He has been chosen to captain the side for the first time, in the absence of Brian O'Driscoll, Paul O'Connell and Rory Best as they are all suffering from injuries.

Fellow Leinster player Richardt Strauss will make his debut at hooker in the front row alongside Cian Healy and Mike Ross.

Ulster's Rory Best and Stephen Ferris are usually firm fixtures in the Ireland team but they were both ruled out due to injury.

Ireland team:
Simon Zebo, Tommy Bowe, Keith Earls, Gordon D'Arcy, Andrew Trimble, Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray, Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Mike McCarthy, Peter O'Mahony, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip (Captain).

Sean Cronin, David Kilcoyne, Michael Bent, Donncha O'Callaghan, Iain Henderson, Eoin Reddan, Ronan O'Gara, Fergus McFadden.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015
Wed 07 January 2015