Published Sunday, 19 January 2014
Rory McIlroy talks to caddie Dave Renwick on the 18th green. (© Getty)
Spain's Pablo Larrazabal won on Sunday after carding a final round of 67 to finish 14 under par, one stroke ahead of major winners McIlroy and Phil Mickelson, who were both left to rue vital mistakes.
For McIlroy it was taking an incorrect drop on the second hole of his third round, an error which cost him a two-shot penalty and left him fuming about golf's "stupid rules".
Two years ago, the former world number one was penalised two shots in his second round at Abu Dhabi for brushing away some sand that was not on the green, but which lay between his ball and the flag.
He went on to finish one behind surprise winner Robert Rock.
Mickelson's wound was also self-inflicted, the Open champion leading by one when he ran up a triple-bogey seven on the 13th after attempting to hit a right-handed escape shot from under a bush, only to suffer a 'double-hit' when his ball struck the bush and bounced back on to his club.
The 43-year-old bounced back in typical fashion with birdies on the 14th and 16th, but was unable to find the eagle he needed on the 18th to force a play-off with Larrazabal.
McIlroy had played alongside Larrazabal and the pair were both three under for the day after 11 holes, but while McIlroy's challenge stalled with a run of seven straight pars, Larrazabal birdied the 13th and hit two superb shots to the heart of the 18th green to set up the decisive birdie.
© UTV News