Jackson selected for Ireland squad

Published Wednesday, 20 February 2013
Toggle font size

Ireland Coach Declan Kidney has selected five Ulster players in his starting XV for this Sunday's RBS 6 Nations match with Scotland at Murrayfield.

Video available to UK viewers only.
We’re sorry. This video is unavailable from your location.
  • This video has been Geoblocked to UK viewers ONLY!
    Kidney calls up Ulster players
  • This video has been Geoblocked to UK viewers ONLY!
    Ireland press conference

To find out if this video is available to you, we need to know what region you live in. Please enter your postcode below (including space).

Frequently Asked Questions

Thank you for confirming your region.

Frequently Asked Questions

We are sorry but this video is not available on u.tv in your region. Your region is listed below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you in Northern Ireland?

1. Why is my postcode required?

We are asking you to insert your postcode before watching some videos to confirm you can access the video content via u.tv.

This is because some videos on u.tv are only available in Northern Ireland.

Don't worry, we won't store or use this information for any other purpose.

If you are not in Northern Ireland, the content may be available to watch at itv.com or stv.tv.

2. Why am I directed to itv.com or stv.tv when I try to view certain clips?

The videos, which are not available on u.tv to users outside Northern Ireland, will be available to those users on itv.com (for users in England and Wales) or stv.tv (for most users in Scotland).

We need to know where you are in order to make sure you are getting the right content.

If you think we've got your location wrong, then please click here.

Need more help? Contact us

Out-half Paddy Jackson and centre Luke Marshall will make their senior debuts for the international side, while Tom Court will win his 30th cap after being selected at loose-head.

Uncapped Jackson has been chosen to replace Jonathan Sexton, who is nursing a hamstring injury, ahead of Ronan O'Gara at fly-half.

The decision is one of the biggest calls of Declan Kidney's five-year reign as head coach.

Marshall will start at inside centre after Gordon D'Arcy was struck down by a foot injury.

The decision to play Jackson is the big talking point given O'Gara's status as Ireland's most capped player with 127 appearances.

The Munster veteran, who turns 36 next month, was expected to be Kidney's automatic choice to replace Sexton given he has served as back-up at fly-half since the 2011 World Cup.

But after a somewhat poor season so far, Kidney is keeping him on the bench this weekend.

Rory Best and Craig Gilroy have also been named to start at hooker and wing respectively, while Declan Fitzpatrick and Iain Henderson have been selected on the bench.

The Ireland team to play Scotland on Sunday in Edinburgh in the RBS 6 Nations, kick off at 2pm.

Ireland team:

Rob Kearney ;Craig Gilroy; Brian O'Driscoll; Luke Marshall; Keith Earls; Paddy Jackson; Conor Murray; Tom Court; Rory Best; Mike Ross; Donncha O'Callaghan; Donnacha Ryan; Peter O'Mahony; Sean O'Brien; Jamie Heaslip (Captain).

Sean Cronin; David Kilcoyne; Declan Fitzpatrick; Devin Toner; Iain Henderson; Eoin Reddan; Ronan O'Gara; Luke Fitzgerald.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
Mon 31 March 2014
Fatal shooting in west Belfast
Sat 19 April 2014
Carrick disturbances
Fri 11 April 2014