Breen gearing up for Circuit of Ireland

Published Tuesday, 15 April 2014
Toggle font size

Irish rally driver Craig Breen is set to be first off the ramp when the Circuit of Ireland gets underway following a ceremonial start in Belfast later this week.

Breen gearing up for Circuit of Ireland
A special stage of the Circuit of Ireland was previously held in Titanic Quarter (© Pacemaker)

The Peugeot Rally Academy driver will be the top seed for the world-famous rally, ahead of second seeded Škoda Motorsport driver Esapekka Lappi and his own teammate Kevin Abbring in third.

The first car will be flagged off from the front of Belfast City Hall at 7pm on Thursday.

Ahead of that, a carnival atmosphere will descend on the area from 5pm, before the competitors assemble from 6pm for the ceremonial start.

This year's rally has attracted a bumper entry.

Bobby Willis, Rally Director

Around 120 drivers from 14 nations are expected to compete in what will be round four of the FIA European Rally Championship across Counties Antrim and Down.

The Qualifying Stage will be held earlier on Thursday at Ballycultra Village, with the stages proper taking place over Good Friday and Easter Saturday.

"We're gearing up for an exciting few days across counties Down and Antrim and we look forward to seeing both new and established rally fans supporting the event," Rally Director Bobby Willis said.

"We especially look forward to seeing fans at Belfast City Hall on Thursday afternoon and at the Titanic Service Park throughout the two competition days."

Where can I see the Rally?

Times approximate for first car - two-hour convoy thereafter.

Thursday 17 April

0900-1100: Assembly of FIA & ERC Championship cars and drivers in Ballycultra Village, at the Folk & Transport Museum, Holywood.
1030-1200: Free Practice of FIA & ERC Championship teams in Croft Hill, Holywood.
1245-1330: Assembly of FIA, ERC and Junior Championship competitors at Ballycultra Village.
1340-1400: Qualifying Stage for FIA and ERC Championship teams in Croft Hill, Holywood.
1400-1600: Shakedown for remaining international and national cars at Croft Hill, Holywood.
1730-1900: Autograph session, start order selection, at Belfast City Hall.
1900-2030: Ceremonial start.

Friday 18 April

0825: Service out at Titanic Belfast.
0900: Cars to leave from Newtownards Town Centre to start competitive stages.
1330: Service at Titanic Belfast.
1515: Downpatrick Regroup.
1915: Newtownards TT Stage.
2000: Service in at Titanic Belfast.

Saturday 19 April

0745: Service out at Titanic Belfast.
1100: Hillsborough Castle Regroup.
1130: Lisburn Power Stage.
1230: Service in and regroup at Titanic Belfast.
1530: Banbridge Regroup (The Cut).
1715: Service In at Titanic Belfast.
1730: Finish ceremony at Titanic Belfast.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Wintry weather
Wed 28 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015