Sinn Féin retains Mid Ulster seat

Sinn Féin's Francie Molloy has been elected MP for Mid Ulster after winning the by-election.

Published 08/03/2013 12:00

A total of 37,426 people voted in the poll out of an eligible electorate of 67,192- a turnout of 55.7%.

A total of 17,462 of those votes went to Sinn Féin candidate Mr Molloy, who won with a reduced majority.

Joint unionist candidate Nigel Lutton received 12,781 votes, increasing the unionist share of the vote in the constituency.

SDLP's Patsy McGlone polled in third place with 6,478 votes followed by Alliance Party candidate Eric Bullick, who secured 487 votes.

Polling stations closed at 10pm on Thursday with a final tally counted within four hours at Cookstown Leisure Centre in the first past the post ballot.

The seat was vacated by Sinn Fein's Martin McGuinness in December last year. The Mid Ulster MLA stepped down as part of a Sinn Féin move to end double-jobbing by party members.

He was MP for the area since 1997, when he defeated DUP member William McCrea and secured a 15,000 plus majority in the 2010 General Election.

Proud and humbled to win this victory for the people of Mid Ulster. Thinking of all those who have struggled to make days like this possible

— Francie Molloy (@FrancieMolloy) March 8, 2013

© UTV 2016