Argo triumphs at Writers Guild awards

Zero Dark Thirty and Argo were the major winners at the Writers Guild of America Awards on Sunday after landing the board's top honours.

Published 18/02/2013 12:00

Mark Boal took home the Best Original Screenplay award for Zero Dark Thirty at the bicoastal ceremony held simultaneously in Los Angeles and New York City.

Argo's Chris Terrio saw off competition from Lincoln's Tony Kushner and Silver Linings Playbook's David O. Russell to scoop the award for Best Adapted Screenplay.

The prize for Best Documentary Screenplay went to Malik Bendjelloul for Searching For Sugar Man while Lena Dunham's TV sitcom Girls was awarded the New Series honour and Breaking Bad took the top TV Drama Series award.

© UTV 2016