Unchanged Ireland side to face England

Published Thursday, 20 February 2014
Toggle font size

Ireland boss Joe Schmidt has named an unchanged side to face England in the Six Nations at Twickenham this weekend.

Unchanged Ireland side to face England
Ireland's Brian O'Driscoll has been named in the starting line-up. (© Getty)

The starting line-up was announced in Dublin on Thursday, where Brian O'Driscoll took part in a full training session after missing out on Tuesday through illness.

Saturday will mark the final time he turns out at Twickenham in an Ireland jersey and it could be all the more special if his side capitalise on their chance to win the Triple Crown.

While Ireland have picked up morale-boosting wins over Scotland and Wales, they know England will present a tougher test having lost their last three game against them.

"I think what we have done so far has been impressive," Andrew Trimble told UTV.

"I think we have been very efficient in the performances that we have put out there and we have got a couple of wins which is pretty important as well, but I think we just have to take our level up again.

"Because what we have done previously isn't going to be good enough. Whenever you are against England, that is what is so challenging about this weekend - going to Twickenham."

Ireland face England on Saturday with kick-off at 4pm.

Ireland Squad

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster), Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster), Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster), Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster), Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster), Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

© UTV News
Comments Comments
Val in Newtownabbey wrote (342 days ago):
Come on the wee green men thrash the English for the triple crown and go for grand slam.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Wintry weather
Wed 28 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015