McIlroy furious after 'stupid' penalty

Published Saturday, 18 January 2014
Comments
Toggle font size
Print

Rory McIlroy has blasted golf's "stupid rules" after being handed a two-shot penalty for an incorrect drop in the third round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship.

McIlroy furious after 'stupid' penalty
Rory McIlroy talks to caddie Dave Renwick on the 18th green (© Getty)

The 24-year-old thought he had carded a 68 to finish 11 under par and just one shot behind leader Craig Lee, when Dave Renwick, caddie to his playing partner Ricardo Gonzalez, spoke to him on the 18th green to inform him of a possible infraction before he signed his card.

Renwick felt McIlroy had not taken full relief from a spectator crossing on the second hole and when video evidence proved inconclusive, McIlroy and European Tour chief referee John Paramor headed back to the par five to examine the area in question.

It was then determined that McIlroy's left foot had been touching the white line denoting the crossing and a two-shot penalty was applied.

"I'm going to go and hit the gym so hard," a clearly frustrated McIlroy said on Saturday. "I'm going to run myself into the ground to try to get some of the frustration out."

The Holywood golfer, who said he had "better things to think about" than keeping up to date with the rules, added: "I hit my second shot on the second into the left rough but on the spectator crosswalk. I took a drop and played my shot but I did not notice my left foot was still on the line and you need to take full relief."

There are a lot of stupid rules in golf and this is one of them.

Rory McIlroy

He explained: "We went out to see it again and see my divot and it was clear I could not have played my shot with my feet anywhere else. It's unfortunate. If anything it was a disadvantage because I dropped it in a bad lie and did not make birdie.

"I have to try to make up the shots as early as possible tomorrow. It gives me a bit of extra motivation."

McIlroy last fell foul of the rules in Abu Dhabi in 2012 for brushing away some sand that was not on the green but which lay between his ball and the flag.

On that occasion it was playing partner Luke Donald who pointed out the error and McIlroy admitted both Donald and Renwick had done the right thing.

"You have to adhere to the rules of this game and he (Renwick) was pointing out something he thought was questionable," McIlroy added. "He was just doing what I guess anyone would."

The incident overshadowed both Lee's chance to claim a first European Tour title and the brilliance of Phil Mickelson earlier in the day, who charged through the field with a 63.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
4 Comments
sean in donegal wrote (272 days ago):
Re Monkey.If you ever get the chance ask someone if you don't already have one for a Rules of Golf Book.Then perhaps your comment will become clear.Golf being such in theory a simple game has more Rules than grains of sand on Portstewart Beach.
Monkey in Coleraine wrote (274 days ago):
Surely by now he knows the rules ! I have a felling rory is not winning many new supporters at the min !
sean in donegal wrote (274 days ago):
Rory is a young man and I be surprised if he would know even half the rules of Golf.He made a simple mistake and got his penalty which cost him victory.On a daily basis we watch so called Soccer stars cheat consistently and get away with it.Seems the authorities who govern Soccer are content enough to let this happen.There is no room in any Sport for cheats..Rory made a genuine mistake..Big difference.
Gavin in Belfast wrote (277 days ago):
Spoilt brat
POST A COMMENT:
Name:  
Email address*:    
Location:  
Validation:
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
MOST POPULAR GALLERIES
Lynda Bellingham: 1948-2014
Mon 20 October 2014
Ryder Cup 2014 - Day One
Fri 26 September 2014
The X Factor: Judges
Fri 03 October 2014