Lappi wins Circuit of Ireland rally

Published Saturday, 19 April 2014
Toggle font size

After two days of racing the Circuit of Ireland International rally has been won by Finland's Esapekka Lappi.

Lappi wins Circuit of Ireland rally
Winners of the Circuit of Ireland Rally Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm (© Presseye)

The European Rally Championship leader finished one minute and 50 seconds clear of the field after Saturday's stages which saw the drivers battle their way around Lisburn and Hillsborough, finishing at the Titanic Quarter in Belfast.

Second place went to Sepp Wiegand of Germany.

Co Waterford driver Craig Breen, who had been in second place after the first 10 stages on Friday, was forced to retire from the race on Saturday morning.

The Circuit of Ireland has been part of the ERC since 2012, but local racers are also still able to compete in the race.

In the national field Declan Boyle claimed the honours in his Subaru Impreza, finishing one minute and 15 seconds ahead of Declan Gallagher.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
paul in co down wrote (280 days ago):
spot on howard. at Friday's Holywood stage,couldn't c cars as "stewards" blocked view and an ignorant bunch of jumped up nobodies
Satnav in Portrush wrote (281 days ago):
And also in the National rally Boyle won by 40.1 seconds from Donagh Kelly , Declan Gallagher was 5th
Howard in Doña lonely wrote (281 days ago):
Went to see circuit at greorlough stage. After about 15 cars an ambulance went up the stage and no more cars came through.. Waited for hour and half to see the remainder. Asked the marshals if the stage was cancelled and they did not know.. By the time we realised too late to catch the next stage we had planned. Spectators told absolutely nothing. When we walked back to the start about 15 officials standing drinking coffee. Organisation was a shambles.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015
Wed 07 January 2015