Ireland squad named for IRB Nations Cup

Published Monday, 26 May 2014
Toggle font size

Five Ulster players have been named in the emerging Ireland squad for the three-game IRB Nations Cup in Romania next month.

Ireland squad named for IRB Nations Cup
Ulster player Craig Gilroy will play for Ireland in Romania. (© Presseye)

Craig Gilroy, who missed out on the senior tour in Argentina, joins Michael Allen and Paul Marshall on the back row, while Niall Annett, Callum Black feature as forwards.

The emerging squad will be coached by Ulster's Assistant Coach Neil Doak and Connacht's Head Coach Dan McFarland.

The first game of the tournament takes place on Friday 13 June against Russia, followed by Uruguay on Wednesday 18 and the final against the hosts Romania on 22 June.

Emerging Ireland Head Coach, Dan McFarland said: "I am looking forward to working with Neil and this exciting group of players in what will be a highly competitive tournament. It is a great opportunity for players to showcase their abilities and represent their country."

Ireland Head Coach, Joe Schmidt added: "There is a good mix of experienced and younger players in this squad. They will face three tough fixtures as Romania have already qualified for RWC14 and both Uruguay and Russia are in the final stages of the Repechage for World Cup qualification."

Emerging Ireland Squad:

Forwards (15)
Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); Rodney Ah You (Buccaneers/Connacht); Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster) ; Callum Black (Malone/Ulster); Paddy Butler (Shannon/Munster); Bryan Byrne (Clontarf/Leinster); Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues); Sean Dougall (Dolphin/ Munster); David Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster); Mick Kearney (Clontarf/Connacht); Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) (c); Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) ;Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster); John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster); James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)

Backs (11)
Michael Allen (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster); Andrew Conway (Blackrock College/Munster); Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster); Eoin Griffin (Galwegians/Connacht); JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians/Munster); Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster); Brendan Macken (Blackrock College/Leinster); Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster); Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster); Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster); Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)

© UTV News
Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015
Wed 07 January 2015