Published Friday, 22 June 2012
Jose Manuel Lara was booted out of the event over his caddie's mistake. (© Getty)
Two-time winner of the event Jose Manuel Lara was disqualified by European Tour bosses, after his caddie was caught in what was deemed a serious breach of etiquette at the second hole.
He discovered an extra club in Lara's bag and tried to dispose of it.
Having a 15th club carries a penalty in itself, but not admitting the error was considered serious enough to warrant disqualification - although it was accepted that Lara had no idea about the club or the attempt to get rid of it.
It was clearly the caddie doing what he felt at the time was the right thing, but was clearly the wrong thing. He's kind of been asked not to come back and that's how the matter has been resolved.
John Paramor, European Tour
The caddie was caught out by McGrane and Hedblom who thought something suspicious was going on.
"He was seen entering the bush with the bag of clubs by Lara's playing partners," European tour chief referee John Paramor said.
"They went and asked the chap 'What are you doing?' and he sort of fumbled out an answer saying: 'I've got this wrong - I've done something bad. I wish it hadn't happened ...' etc, etc.
"It was clear the club was out of the bag and in the bush at the time. He admitted it straight away and regretted his action."
Lara, who would have been in contention with a three-under par 69, was handed a two-shot penalty for the first hole and another two-shot penalty for the second.
But, after consulting with colleagues, Paramor ruled that Lara would have to be disqualified.