Bowe returns for Ulster's QF clash

Published Friday, 05 April 2013
Toggle font size

Tommy Bowe is back on the bench for Ulster's Heineken Cup Quarter-Final, as Saturday's line-up is revealed.

Video available to UK viewers only.
We’re sorry. This video is unavailable from your location.

To find out if this video is available to you, we need to know what region you live in. Please enter your postcode below (including space).

Frequently Asked Questions

Thank you for confirming your region.

Frequently Asked Questions

We are sorry but this video is not available on in your region. Your region is listed below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you in Northern Ireland?

1. Why is my postcode required?

We are asking you to insert your postcode before watching some videos to confirm you can access the video content via

This is because some videos on are only available in Northern Ireland.

Don't worry, we won't store or use this information for any other purpose.

If you are not in Northern Ireland, the content may be available to watch at or

2. Why am I directed to or when I try to view certain clips?

The videos, which are not available on to users outside Northern Ireland, will be available to those users on (for users in England and Wales) or (for most users in Scotland).

We need to know where you are in order to make sure you are getting the right content.

If you think we've got your location wrong, then please click here.

Need more help? Contact us

The 29-year-old has been out of action since December, when he damaged knee ligaments while playing against Northampton.

But Mark Anscombe has named the winger among his replacements for his side's clash against Saracens at Twickenham.

Earlier this year, Bowe said it was unlikely he would be ruled fit to play in the quarter final, but now says he is delighted to be back.

"It has been a tough 16 weeks now since the operation."

The Monaghan man admitted he was coming back into play on a big match but said he is raring to go.

"Hopefully I will get onto the pitch at some stage and I'm looking forward to getting the ball in my hands again.

"It's going to be a big occasion for Ulster and hopefully we'll do the fans proud."

Mark Anscombe said he is confident that Bowe is ready to don his Ulster shirt.

"Tommy has trained very well. He is chomping at the bit to get out there - he has missed a lot of rugby and he wants to play. We want to accommodate him because he is a world-class player.

He said: "It is a credit to our Head of Strength and Conditioning, Jonny Davis, and to Gareth Robinson, Alan McCaldin and the rest of our medical staff that he is ready."

Tight-head prop John Afoa is back in the starting XV, returning from New Zealand following the birth of his third child.

Elsewhere Iain Henderson replaces Robbie Diack at blindside flanker, and Luke Marshall has recovered from the concussion sustained playing for Ireland against Italy in the 6 Nations.

More than 35,000 tickets have been sold for the London clash, which kicks off at 6.30pm.

Anscombe said the players were looking forward to getting onto the pitch.

"We're playing in the quarter-final of a great competition, at one of the best grounds in rugby, against the side leading the Aviva Premiership and there's going to be a big crowd," he added.

"It doesn't get any better than that."

Team in full:
J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, C Gilroy, P Jackson, R Pienaar, T Court, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller (c), D Tuohy, I Henderson, C Henry, N Williams.

Replacements: R Herring, C Black, R Lutton, R Diack, M McComish, P Marshall, S Olding, T Bowe.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
Dollingstown in Dollingstown wrote (383 days ago):
Good luck boys
Paddy in Ulster wrote (384 days ago):
SUFTUM Good luck to the lads for the match. Hope Nevin(RIP) gives a hand to return to the form they all had at the start of the season. Big performance needed.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
Mon 31 March 2014
Fatal shooting in west Belfast
Sat 19 April 2014
Carrick disturbances
Fri 11 April 2014