Anstey takes ninth TT chequered flag

Published Monday, 04 June 2012
Toggle font size

Bruce Anstey overcame Cameron Donald by just 0.77 seconds to pick up his ninth Isle of Man TT race win in a dramatic Supersport Race One on Monday.

Anstey takes ninth TT chequered flag
Bruce Anstey came in ahead of Cameron Donald in the TT Supersport. (© Pacemaker)

Michael Dunlop led by 21 seconds by the second lap, but retired at Ballig Bridge on his third circuit after posting a fastest lap of the race at 126.95 miles per hour.

Gary Johnson led after the third lap but fell back in the closing stages.

William Dunlop took a first-ever TT podium when he came home third.

New Zealander Anstey's win was the second closest ever winning margin in TT history.

Monday's programme had been delayed because of a serious traffic collision on the island.

On Saturday John McGuiness clinched an 18th TT win by taking victory at a race record speed in the opening Superbike event.

McGuiness was pushed all the way by Australian Cameron Donald, with Bruce Anstey completing the podium, Guy Martin fourth, Gary Johnston fifth, and William Dunlop sixth.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Wintry weather
Wed 28 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015