117 NI athletes at Commonwealth Games

Published Tuesday, 10 June 2014
Toggle font size

Northern Ireland is sending a 117-strong squad of athletes to compete in 14 sports at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow - including Paralympic stars Jason Smyth and Bethany Firth.

Among those set to compete in the Games, which are being held from 23 July 23 to 3 August 3, are the athletics team which boasts a host of Northern Ireland record holders.

It represents one of the largest ever athletics teams to represent Northern Ireland at Commonwealth level.

"The depth of talent and experience within the squad truly reflects how strong the sport of athletics in Northern Ireland is as a whole," Jacqueline McKernan from Athletics NI said.

"Those athletes selected have shown dedication that is second to none and, with the aid of their coaches, they have earned their spot on the team.

"I would congratulate them all on their achievement."

Athletics NI General Secretary John Allen added: "Athletics is undoubtedly a major highlight of the Games and draws support from fans throughout the Commonwealth.

"The athletes selected are a mixture of Commonwealth Games veterans and young talent, all of whom will no doubt rise to the challenges of such a high profile event and thrive on the excitement of the Games."

NI squad for Commonwealth Games

Rachel Bethel; Curtis Coulter; Michael Dawson; Bethany Firth; Danielle Hill; Gemma Kane; Sycerika McMahon; Conor Munn; Jordan Sloan; David Thompson.

Zoe Brown; Amy Foster; Gladys Ganiel; Kerry O'Flaherty; Katie Kirk; Christine McMahon; Peter Glass; Jason Harvey; Dempsey McGuigan; Daniel Mooney; Paul Pollock; Leon Reid; Ben Reynolds; Jason Smyth.

Caroline Black; Sinead Chambers; Alannah Stephenson; Ciaran Chambers; Tony Murphy; Tony Stephenson.

Paddy Barnes; Michaela Walsh; Ruairi Dalton; Michael Conlon; Joe Fitzpatrick; Alanna Audley-Murphy; Sean Duffy; Steven Donnelly; Connor Coyle; Sean McGlinchy; Steven Ward.

Claire Oakley; Roger Aiken; Connor McConvey; Lydia Boylan; Wendy Houvenaghel; James Brown; Marcus Christie; Sean Downey; Fraser Duncan; Peter Hawkins; Michael Hutchinson; Martyn Irvine; Philip Lavery; Dave Readle.

Sarah Beck; Nicole Mawhinney; India McPeak; Ciara Roberts; Luke Carson; Matthew Cosgrave.

Lisa Kearney; Kirsty Kee; Caoimhin Thompson; Eoin Fleming; Mark Montgomery; Gavin McNeill.

Lawn Bowls Men:
Neil Booth; Paul Daly; Ian McClure; Martin McHugh; Neil Mulholland.

Lawn Bowls Women:
Barbara Cameron; Mandy Cunningham; Jennifer Dowds; Donna McCloy; Catherine McMillen;

Niamh Cooper; Michelle Drayne; Gemma Gibney; Noleen Lennon; Nordia Masters; Lisa McCaffrey; Oonah McCullough; Caroline O'Hanlon; Lisa Somerville; Fionnuala Toner; Marie Toner; Hannah Willis.

David Calvert; Jack Alexander; Gary Duff; Sam Kelly; Louise Aiken; Claudia McClung; Kirsty Barr; David Beattie; David Henning; David Christie; Clement Buchanan.

Michael Craig; Madeline Perry.

Table Tennis:
Ashley Givan; Emma Ludlow; Hannah Lynch-Dawson; Amanda Mogey; Peter Graham; Paul McCreery; Ashley Robinson.

Eimear Mullan; Aileen Reid; Emma Sharkey; Conor Murphy; Harry Speers; Russell White.

Norik Koczarian; Hugh McCloskey.

© UTV News
Comments Comments
Dan shields in mayo wrote (231 days ago):
best of luck lads do the north proud
Paul in Belfast wrote (232 days ago):
Goodluck. Do Ireland Proud. The luck of the Irish.
dandman in tyrone wrote (232 days ago):
Is there no word of the hundreds of athletes on team Ulster leaving for the special Olympic games in limerick on Thursday morning
Adrian in Coleraine wrote (232 days ago):
Good luck to ye all !
s magowan in belfast wrote (233 days ago):
Here's hoping the NI team bring back plenty of mefald.good luck to all out athletes. Will be glued to the telly.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]
January snow
Tue 13 January 2015
Ravenhill Road fish spill
Sun 25 January 2015
Wintry weather
Wed 28 January 2015