Ewan McGregor, Kate Bush on honours list

Published Saturday, 29 December 2012
Toggle font size

Ewan Mcgregor, Kate Bush, artist Tracey Emin and illustrator Quentin Blake will kick off 2013 in style after finding their names on Queen Elizabeth II's New Year honours list.

Ewan McGregor, Kate Bush on honours list

Scottish actor McGregor has been awarded an Order of the British Empire (OBE) medal, while revered pop star Bush and Emin have both picked up Commander of the British Empire (CBE) accolades.

Blake, who is perhaps best known for his work on images for writer Roald Dahl's books, will be knighted in the New Year, as will cyclist Bradley Wiggins, who won the Tour De France in 2012 and then claimed gold at the Olympics.

Sir Paul McCartney's designer daughter Stella also makes the coveted list - she'll be awarded an OBE for her services to fashion, and London Olympics boss Ruth Mackenzie, former Prime Minister Tony Blair's wife Cherie and choreographer/dancer Arlene Phillips will also kneel for The Queen after landing CBEs.

Phillips tells the BBC she's "absolutely thrilled" by the honour, adding: "I haven't quite got used to it yet, but I'm very pleased about it."

Australian actor-turned-politician Michael Cashman has also been awarded a CBE, while actor Adrian Lester picks up an OBE and actress Siobhan Redmond receives an MBE (Member of the British Empire) for services to drama.

Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]

Watch the best on UTV

UTV main logo
Through the Keyhole
20 September - 9:20 pm

Through the Keyhole

Keith Lemon snoops around the homes of myster...

The X Factor
20 September - 8:00 pm

The X Factor

The singing competition continues. Performers...

Am I dreaming or is Belfast set to become the Hollywood of Europe?
Ian Paisley in pictures
Fri 12 September 2014
Tributes to Gerry Anderson
Thu 21 August 2014
Frampton crowned world champion
Sun 07 September 2014