Dornan wins GQ Breakthrough Award

Dornan wins GQ Breakthrough Award

Northern Ireland actor Jamie Dornan has been honoured with the Breakthrough Award at the GQ Men Of The Year Awards in London.

The Co Down man was presented with the accolade by Fifty Shades of Grey author EL James at the ceremony on Tuesday night.Dornan is set to portray the billionaire Christian Grey in the upcoming film version of the erotic best seller in February.Belfast singer Van Morrison was also presented with a trophy after he won the Legend Award, while Ballymena actor Liam Neeson won the Editor's Special Award.Another big winner at the star-studded event was Wolf of Wall Street star Jonah Hill, who took aim at his schoolboy love while accepting the style trophy from Bradley Cooper.Hill said: "Emily, my first girlfriend... You broke my heart and left it shattered. It was really sad. I know you were young and love is wild and you grow apart, but I'm GQ International Man of the f**king Year!"The twice Oscar-nominated star joined Colin Firth, Pharrell Williams, New Order, new Doctor Who Peter Capaldi, racing driver Lewis Hamilton and Paulo Nutini among the big style winners, while Johnny Depp presented punk veteran Iggy Pop with GQ's Icon Award.And the women weren't left out - Kim Kardashian West, who was joined on the red carpet by her husband Kanye West, picked up the Woman of the Year prize in a custom-designed haute couture Ralph & Russo gown.Reminding the world her full name is now Kim Kardashian West, the reality TV star said: "I want to thank GQ for making me Woman of the Year, and my husband for making me feel like woman of the year every day."Among those handing over the top prizes at the ceremony were Lindsay Lohan, Bradley Cooper, Gerard Butler, Rita Ora, Cara Delevingne, Daisy Lowe, Bob Geldof and Pippa Middleton.The full list of GQ Men of the Year Award winners:Comedian of the Year: John BishopEditor's Special Award: Liam NeesonChef of the Year: Tom KerridgeDesigner of the Year: Christopher BaileyInternational Man of the Year: Jonah HillWriter of the Year: Michael LewisPhilanthropist of the Year: Tony BlairBreakthrough Fashion Designers of the Year: Agi and SamTV Personality of the Year: Peter CapaldiInnovator Award: Ewan VentersInspiration Award: New OrderHugo Boss Most Stylish Man: Douglas BoothSportsman: Lewis HamiltonActor of the Year: Benedict CumberbatchEntrepreneur of the Year: Andre BalazsSpecial Achievement: Paolo NutiniVertu Breakthrough Award: Jamie DornanLegend Award: Van MorrisonSolo Artist of the Year: Pharrell WilliamsLeading Man of the Year: Colin FirthHumanitarian of the Year: Ringo StarrWoman of the Year: Kim Kardashian WestIcon Award: Iggy PopInstagram


Elsewhere on the Web

More Top Stories

UTV Digest

Your daily digest of the most popular UTV Stories

Back to Top