Doctor Who leads NTA nominations

Published Tuesday, 08 January 2013
Toggle font size

Sherlock and Doctor Who are going head-to-head at the upcoming National Television Awards after landing a slew of top nominations.

Doctor Who leads NTA nominations

They will compete with Downton Abbey and Merlin for the Best Drama prize, and Steven Moffat, who writes and produces both Sherlock and Doctor Who, is hoping for a dead heat.

He says: "Well this is very flattering, but also terrifying. I hope everyone votes with tremendous care and the result is an exact draw between both shows."

Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch and Doctor Who lead Matt Smith are both up for the Best Male Drama Performance prize, against Merlin's Colin Morgan and Daniel Mays, who is tipped for his portrayal of Great Train Robber Ronnie Biggs in drama Mrs Biggs.

Mays' co-star Sheridan Smith has been nominated in the Best Female Drama Performance category, and goes up against Doctor Who's Karen Gillan, Miranda Hart (Call The Midwife) and Suranne Jones (Scott & Bailey).

The winners will be announced during a ceremony held at the O2 Arena in London on 23 January.

Comments Comments
No comments. Be the first to comment.
Email address*:    
House Rules:  
Your Comment:  
[All comments are moderated and will not appear immediately. Your name, location and comment will be displayed on this page if your post passes moderation.]

Watch the best on UTV

UTV main logo
The Speakmans
31 July - 2:00 pm

The Speakmans

Series in which therapists Nik and Eva Speakm...

Let's Do Lunch with Gino and Mel
31 July - 12:30 pm

Let's Do Lunch with Gino and Mel

Lunchtime chat, food and celebrity guests wit...

It's the summer, the holiday time, and the kids are off school so you might have missed that (earlier than usual this year) Joe Mahon returned to UTV screens this month to ...
Twelfth of July
Sat 12 July 2014
The Open Championship
Sun 20 July 2014
July sunshine
Thu 24 July 2014