Queen’s and NASA in solar flares study
Published: Wednesday, 20 August 2014
A team at Queen's University, Belfast is set to join up with American space agency NASA to investigate solar flares and their potential to cause disruption on Earth.
Innovative future for former army base
Published: Thursday, 03 April 2014
A former army base in Londonderry is being transformed into an innovative science hub and it’s hoped the new multi-storey building will bring new jobs and create companies in the city.
14,000 animals killed at NI universities
Published: Monday, 10 February 2014
Almost 14,000 animals died in experiments at universities in Northern Ireland in one year, it has been revealed.
NI role 'delight' for astronaut Hadfield
Published: Monday, 13 January 2014
Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, famed for his broadcasts from space, has told UTV he's delighted with his new role promoting Irish tourism.
NI mission for astronaut Chris Hadfield
Published: Sunday, 12 January 2014
Famous astronaut Chris Hadfield has made a star appearance in Armagh as part of his new mission exploring some of Northern Ireland's top tourist spots.
Queen's team size up mysterious planet
Published: Wednesday, 30 October 2013
Astronomers at Queen's University Belfast have, for the first time, weighed and measured an Earth-sized planet outside our own solar system which they say "shouldn't exist".
15 research jobs created in Belfast
Published: Thursday, 26 September 2013
A new sustainable energy research centre in Belfast has been launched, creating 15 jobs.

Watch News on UTV

UTV main logo
UTV Live
26 August - 6:00 pm

UTV Live

Police say they are investigating a complaint...

Good Morning Britain
26 August - 6:00 am

Good Morning Britain

Breakfast show with the latest news, sport an...

MOST POPULAR GALLERIES
Tributes to Gerry Anderson
Thu 21 August 2014
Strangford rescue
Mon 11 August 2014
Summer downpours
Wed 06 August 2014